CAKE Exhibitor Applications are NOW OPEN!

cakechicago:

image

APPLICATIONS ARE NOW OPEN! All applications will be reviewed by the CAKE advisory committee, which is an open body consisting of members of the Chicago alternative comics community.

Applications Due before or on: December 15th, 2014

Exhibitors Notified: January 26th, 2015

We can’t wait to see your applications!

Now in the Birdcage Bottom Books shop:

Liz Prince’s “I Swallowed The Key To My Heart #3”

Serving as a prequel to Issues 1 & 2, Key to My Heart 3 explains the circumstances under which Liz Prince came to be single, with a guest appearance by Saves the Day (not officially condoned or sanctioned)! Recommended for fans of autobio comics in the vein of Ariel Schrag and Jeffrey Brown, and as such, for Mature Audiences.

8.5″x 11″, 38 pages. $5
B&w cover & interior 

- See more at: http://www.birdcagebottombooks.com/shop/i-swallowed-the-key-to-my-heart-3/#sthash.H2Ed7FsD.dpuf

New in the Birdcage Bottom Books shop:

Sam Spina’s “Spinadoodles: The Fifth Year (Know Me Now)”

Spinafans rejoice! Sam Spina’s done it again in this 5th (and final?) collection of his wonderful diary comics, Spinadoodles. His finest work yet, the writing style, drawing ability, humor and sense of timing have all reached new Spinaheights. It’s a sensitivity-colliding-with-reality take on the world. In addition to all that, his design Spina-sense is impeccable. A must-read for all Spinafollowers. If you’re not, pick up a copy of Know Me Now, The 5th collection of Spinadoodles. You’ll be a fan too!

Published by Tinto Press

4″ x 6″, 176 pages. $10
Full-color cover with b&w interior 

- See more at: http://www.birdcagebottombooks.com/shop/spinadoodles-the-fifth-year-know-me-now/#sthash.o9ArXYIN.dpuf

New in the Birdcage Bottom Books shop:

James Kochalka’s “Fungus: The Unbearable Rot of Being”

Eisner Award-winner James Kochalka presents a forest full of cute but strange fungus creatures that live beneath our feet. “Fungus: The Unbearable Rot of Being” contains 11 chapters of little fungal creatures ruminating on a variety of topics, including such bizarre mysteries as “comics” and “philosophy”, “cyberspace” and “redemption”. A surreal and funny outside look at the elements of our own reality.

Published by Retrofit Comics / Big Planet Comics

5.5″ x 8.5″, 108 pages. $12
Full-color cover (with french flaps) with b&w interior. Perfect-bound. 

*** WE ALSO CARRY the “Fungus #1” mini and “Beach Girls” in which the fungal crew make an appearance! ***

- See more at: http://www.birdcagebottombooks.com/shop/fungus-the-unbearable-rot-of-being/#sthash.XQzCheMD.dpuf

New in the Birdcage Bottom Books shop:

Jeffrey Lewis’ “Fuff #8”

“Fuff # 8″, written and drawn by Jeffrey Lewis (24-page, standard format, b & w comic book.  Mature themes and language).  

Fuff continues with an ever-increasing standard of artistic excellence from acclaimed musician/storyteller/illustrator Jeffrey Lewis!  Issue 8 features a new epic “Stories My Dad Tells” 17-page biographical installment, this time concerning the true 1969 adventures of a New York City bohemian attempting to build a cabin on a mountain in Maine.  Fuff # 8 also features pre-adolescent super hero “Meteorite Mite” in a very strange and personal adventure… 

6.5″ x 10.25″, 24 pages. $3
Full-color cover with b&w interior 

- See more at: http://www.birdcagebottombooks.com/shop/fuff-8/#sthash.V5BUjwxm.dpuf

New in the Birdcage Bottom Books shop:

"SubCultures" anthology

We live in a culture of sub-cultures: communities based around common in- terests, obsessions, fetishes. In this collection, 36 of today’s best independent comics creators explore a wide range of subcultures –underground club scenes, Ham radio networks, cryptozoologists, cosplayers, “Realdoll” relationships, and many more — each with their own rules, rituals and lingos. From fiction to autobiography, reportage and satire, SubCultures is a showcase for what the new breed of independent cartoonists can do: entertain, inform and surprise!

SubCultures contains over 200 pages of comics, in black and white, with 7 special pages in color! With a cover by Box Brown (Andre the Giant), and stories by such popular indie cartoonists as Brown, Alex Robinson, Liz Prince, Noah Van Sciver, Sam Alden, MariNaomi, Glynnis Fawkes, Darryl Seitchik and Rob Kirby.

Edited by Whit Taylor
Published by Ninth Art Press

6″ x 9″, 224 pages. $15
Full-color cover with b&w interior (with 7 full-color pages!) 

- See more at: http://www.birdcagebottombooks.com/shop/subcultures/#sthash.X4glnYN1.dpuf

New in the Birdcage Bottom Books shop:

Jeff Zwirek’s “BlackStar #6”

The last issue of Jeff Zwirek’s “BlackStar” mini-comic series, “BlackStar #6″!

Jeff sez:
“I wasn’t ever sure there was going to be a BlackStar #6, but here it is. Collecting several other short comics from the last couple years, BlackStar 6 also includes an all new 11 page original short story. Also included is the fancy full color fold out comic “Capsize” which originally appeared here in Chicago in the Readers comics issue. The book is 33 pages of comics with some color spot illustrations and that fancy die cut star cover.

True Story, way back when I published BlackStar #2 I went and had 4 covers Die cut with the stars at once to save money. A Black cover which was #2, A Silver cover which was #4, A glittery Blue cover which was #5 and a Red cover, which is now #6. Which means that the red cover has been sitting in a box waiting to be published for like 7 years. Which also means that BlackStar will now be coming to an end.  Never thought it would take that long.”

5.5″ x 8.5″, 33 pages. $5
Red cardstock die-cut cover with b&w interior. Includes color spot illustrations and a fold out full-color comic insert. 

- See more at: http://www.birdcagebottombooks.com/shop/blackstar-6/#sthash.kLLLb4Tn.dpuf

future-shock-empirical:

Remember when Future Shock cofounder Victor Kerlow ( thankyouvictor ) made over 50 pages of WHAT’S IN THE BACKPACK, his serialized Space Adventure that he posted on blogspot?  You should tell him to finish it.

For reals.

New in the Birdcage Bottom Books shop:

"Root Hog Or Die" John Porcellino documentary DVD

Root Hog or Die, $15: DVD with 104 minute documentary on John Porcellino, 40 minutes of outtakes and extras, and an exclusive 8-page John P. comic

For over twenty-five years, John Porcellino has self-published his zine ‘King-Cat Comics & Stories,’ which, through simple artwork and storytelling, investigates the essence of just being alive.

In King-Cat, John beautifully renders the “in-between moments” – those instances which occupy the bulk of our lives, but can pass easily without notice: Sitting on the front porch. Peeing at a rest stop. Watching a bird. With humor, compassion and a keen eye, John shows readers what they might be missing, and in doing so inspires many to embrace life more fully.

Born of the zine revolution of the late eighties/early nineties, King-Cat today is the template for cartoonists who seek to create work that is personal, well-crafted and free of outside influence.

From following John around on tour & in the woods to interviewing fellow cartoonists & zinesters, wives & girlfriends, friends & bandmates, ‘Root Hog or Die’ illustrates how John manages – and occasionally struggles – to live and function as an uncompromising artist in twenty-first century America.

Produced & created by Dan Stafford/Kilgore Books & Comics.
Graphic Design by Sam Spina 

- See more at: http://www.birdcagebottombooks.com/shop/root-hog-or-die-dvd/#sthash.jaGpPJBN.dpuf

New in the Birdcage Bottom Books shop:

V. A. Graham & J. A. Eisenhower’s “Scaffold, Vol. 1”

V A Graham & J A Eisenhower’s “Scaffold, Vol. 1″ tells the story of a migratory people living on a world-sized structure, which is itself constantly on the move. Graham and Eisenhower draw at a fixed, ant farm-like scale, creating layouts that form one big, continuous space, along with maps that allow the reader to follow the mazy narrative in its entirety from a birds eye view.

Published by Hic & Hoc Publications

9.5″ x 9.5″, 64 pages. $15
Full-color cover with b&w interior. Perfect-bound. 

- See more at: http://www.birdcagebottombooks.com/shop/scaffold-vol-1/#sthash.wqLlrqX8.dpuf